Blessings on Loan

It’s only fitting that today, on Mother’s Day, I read about Hannah during my quiet time.

Hannah.  The woman who believed that “God had closed her womb.” (1 Samuel 1:5)  But, Hannah decided that she wanted a child so badly that she began praying for one.  She was broken without one.  She cried all the time, she could not eat.  She knew in her heart that she needed a child.  And so, she made a promise to God.

Hannah’s prayer:  “O LORD Almighty, if you will only look upon your servant’s misery and remember me, and not forget your servant, but give her a son, then I will give him to the Lord for all the days of his life.”

Hannah promised God that if he answered her prayer, she would give her son back to him.  Hannah shows us very clearly that all that we have is simply on loan from God… and through this, she grew in her faith and discovered that the greatest joy of having a child is the ability to give that child back fully and freely to God.  Hannah went on to have three more sons and two daughters…. wow, she was so very blessed.  So, how do WE ‘give them back’?  By teaching them about the Bible.  By taking them to church.  By leading them in a Godly way.  By praying with them and for them and teaching them to pray.  All with the confidence that they will grow up knowing that God loves them, and living out the purposes that they were placed on this earth for.  And as they grow up following God with all of their heart, we will know that we have done all that we were supposed to do.

And as my children grow up, I hope and pray that they will lead successful and fulfilling lives, but my greatest prayer is that they will grow up to love the Lord with all their heart, with all their soul, and with all their strength.  That they will seek God earnestly with all of their heart in everything that they do.  That they will visit the sick and give to the poor, that they will not be selfish, but will always think of others. 

Thank you, God, for loaning me two of the greatest blessings of my life, my Camden and my Ella.  You know that Joe and I prayed for them, and we feel beyond blessed that they are ours.  I pray that they will always feel my love and comfort as a mother and that they know they can always count on me, but more importantly, I pray that they know You, Lord, and know that you are ALWAYS with them.  Just as Hannah gave her children back to You in service, I give my children back to You.  On this mother’s day, Lord, I’m thanking you for the blessing of motherhood.  Because through motherhood, I have seen the work of your hands, and the blessings that you pour out on me everyday are more than I could ever ask for.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

“And she said to him, ‘As surely as you live, my lord, I am the woman who stood here beside you praying to the LORD, I prayed for this child and the LORD granted me what I asked of him.  So now I give him to the LORD, For his whole life will be given over to the LORD.” (1 Samuel 1:26-28)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

