Notes from the Mission Field: The Holy Spirit & Psalm 139

One of the best nights that we had in Nicaragua was the evening of the church celebration.  It was the church’s anniversary, and to celebrate, they invited people to gather on a basketball court, and they held a service complete with praise and worship, dancing, messages from local Pastors, Pastor Tommy’s sermon, and my testimony.

Before I spoke, I was able to hold one of the cutest babies in Nicaragua! The Holy Spirit was already preparing my heart with Psalm 139 as I held this sweet boy and considered how wonderful the works of God's hands were. On this night, I wanted the people of Nicaragua to understand that God has a plan and he created them all in order to love them.

The Holy Spirit really prepared me to speak to the Nicaraguan people, and he laid Psalm 139 on my heart.  It’s one of my most favorite Psalms, one that I remember memorizing back when I was at my home church in high school.  The Holy Spirit specifically wanted me to speak to the young girls.  We encountered so many throughout the week, and I really wanted to share my heart with them. 

Psalm 139

1 O LORD, You have searched me, 
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you, know it completely, O LORD.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.

19 If only you, God, would slay the wicked!
Away from me, you who are bloodthirsty!
20 They speak of you with evil intent;
your adversaries misuse your name.
21 Do I not hate those who hate you, LORD,
and abhor those who are in rebellion against you?
22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
I count them my enemies.
23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

In a nutshell, this is basically what I spoke to the Nicaraguan people on that night.  (My language was simplified so that my translator could convey my message completely and accurately.):

When I was a pre-teen, I accepted Christ and was Baptized.  In my teenage years, I didn’t live for the Lord like I do now.  I hung out with the wrong crowds and made bad choices. 

In college, I ended up getting engaged to a man that was not God’s choice for me.  I was not seeking God and asking Him the important questions in my life.  I was choosing who I thought would be best. 

My parents, friends, and one particular pastor did not agree with my choice.  I had a long meeting with this pastor in his office (very scary), but looking back, it was a great meeting because it raised questions that I did not consider:  “Is this God’s plan?”  

One of my friends in particular (his name was Joe) spoke up and told me that I was making the “biggest mistake of my life”.  He was a Christian guy, and followed God with all of his heart.  He knew I was a Christian but… not living according to God’s commands.  My friend Joe was convinced that I was going to marry him. 

(He was crazy wasn’t he?) 

But, as God would have it, according to His plan, I married Joe! 

Things have not always been easy, and Joe and I have both really had to seek the Lord in order for our relationship to be where it is today.  (I’m stubborn, he’s hard headed…)

But, here is what I want you all to understand: (especially the young girls out there)… 

God created us for worship.  He created us to worship Him. 

He made all of us.  He loves all of us. 

We are unique.  And beautiful. 

His word tells us that we are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’. 

Sometimes, I have insecurities and I feel like I’m not good enough, and when I feel like that, I have to remind myself of what it says in Psalm 139….

The Lord created me. 

He knew my name before I was born. 

He knew all of my mistakes before I ever made them. 

And He loves me… and forgives me. 

He loves all of us and has a plan for our lives. 

Every detail. 

We just have to TRUST HIM! 

Fuzzy, yes, but here is a photo of me addressing the Nicaraguan people along with Oscar as my translator. The basketball courts and relaxed atmosphere really put me at ease.

 

And………

Things I forgot to mention to the Nicaraguan people but wished I had………………

1.  The same pastor that met with me (scared me to death, haha) and helped me to realize God’s plan for my life was the same pastor that performed mine and Joe’s marriage ceremony.  Thanks, Pastor Hal!  God certainly has a sense of humor, and I love it. 

May 22nd, 2005. St. Augustine, Florida. In the company of the best Parents and Family in the world.
The best day of my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

