Sit this one out, Sweet Child.

Image

I’m going to make this quick… But it’s worth saying that I *almost* made a big mistake this weekend.  And it involved “Magic Mike”.  Before you get ahead of yourself, let me say that I almost went to see this movie, not knowing what it really was about… I don’t watch much TV or pay attention to much pop culture, so I was severely out of the loop.  (I really thought it was a movie about Michael Jordan’s basketball career. – Please laugh at me now.) 

Two hours before I went to see it with a few girlfriends, I looked up the movie trailer, and I was taken aback.  Um, no… I could not go see that movie.  In an effort to honestly let you know – I’m not trying to be holier-than-thou here.  I am just stating my opinion on such a hot topic.  And I am in no way trying to condemn anyone who has seen this movie or plans to see it.  As a Christian writer, though, I feel like I should weigh in on the discussion.  “Magic Mike” is not for me.  Nor was “Fifty Shades of Gray”… My thoughts are based entirely on scripture and I plan to follow what God says.  Christians are not supposed to judge, so again, I am not judging my friends that saw this movie. 

I just had to sit this one out.  And I thought I’d tell you why.  I’m guarding my heart.  I’m protecting my marriage.  I wouldn’t be happy if my husband went to this type of movie if the roles were reversed.  I am guarding my mind from temptation and lust.  I’m keeping my relationship with God first.  God told me not to go.  My intimate relationship with my husband is important to me and I don’t want to taint it. 

I am absolutely not perfect.  I do not claim to be.  I make mistakes every single day.  I’ve made HUGE mistakes in my past that I wish were different.  But I can’t take those back now… what I can do is try to LIVE RIGHT – RIGHT NOW.  I prayed for direction on this, and God said simply, ‘sit this one out, sweet child’.  And I had to tell my friends that this movie was not for me, with a huge prayer going up that they wouldn’t feel judged by me.  Luckily, they understood.  And I stayed home.

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. (Proverbs 4:23)

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. (Philippians 4:8 )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sit this one out, Sweet Child.

  1. Sheri Speegle says:

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You have taken the words and thoughts right out of my heart and mouth. I will be sharing this… WOW I feel God gave you our answers to our friends as well. Thank you again!

    • Jessica says:

      Thank you for your affirmation, Sheri. I don’t generally blog about such controversial issues, but God spoke to me all day about this and I just couldn’t keep it quiet.

  2. janie shepherd harding says:

    Perfect…..I am so with you…….unpopular stance…..thank you.

    • Jessica says:

      Yes Janie, unpopular… And I’m feeling a bit of backlash – but the great news is 350+ people have read it… And that’s the purpose. Sharing God’s message… :). I hope you will bookmark my site for future posts. :)

  3. WondHerful says:

    Because of your transparency in this post I got inspired to get transparent in mine. Thanks, girl!

  4. WondHerful says:

    Because of your transparency in this post I got transparent in mine. Thanks, girl!

  5. Heather says:

    I want to thank you for this post. I am thanking you even though I did see this movie. I feel that I have been judged and condemned by a couple of good friends for my actions. You have not done the same. You have been very kind with your words and made it clear that you are making the decision to not see the movie for yourself and your relationship with God and nothing else while not looking down on or judging your friends. I commend you for standing up for what you believe and doing it in a way that your friends can understand and respect you for.

  6. As a husband and a man striving to live a life worthy of Gods grace, mercy, and love…I gotta say that it’s great to see someone say something about this. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to sit down and write something on my blog concerning this and it always comes out wrong. Not to mention that my hope was that someone of the opposite sex could articulate it the way you have.
    Thanks for what you have said. I hope the message gets out far and wide.

  7. Rosemary Giuliani says:

    “Be ye perfect as your Father in heaven is perfect” Matt 5
    In Ephesians 5 Paul warns us about our sinful natures. In verse 4, He goes so far as to warn us even to not listen to or repeat “dirty” jokes, or course speech. In vs 5 he tells us that “No fornicator or unclean person, nor covetous man/woman, who is an IDOLATER, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God.”
    Vs.7 Tells us not to even be with those who partake in these sensuous endeavors. He then goes on to tell us of the Fruit of His Holy Spirit.
    All this to say, that judging is part of the Christian walk. Every day we judge what is good and what is evil. We do so in light of the scriptures and with communication with our Heavenly Father.
    Are we not to be salt and light in this evil world? So I disagree with your “not judging”.
    Your stance is that you are not your brother’s/sister’s keeper.
    The scriptures say that we should always be armed with the Word of God to speak into the lives of other believers and to speak into the lives of the unbeliever. “How shall they hear without a preacher?”
    We need to love each other enough to cry out and keep each other from sin.
    I thank you for your stance on not going, and I pray that you spoke to your friends with the scriptures in hand to show them why they should not go. We do have freedom in Christ…freedom to live unto Him and die to ourselves.
    The fact that you have a blog and have chosen to speak is God ordained…but, with this comes a heavy responsibility to speak the Truth of God in humility and love.
    Bless you.
    Rose Giuliani

  8. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for posting this – A friend posted a link to your blog – So glad I read it! We must guard our heart!

Leave a Reply

