Give me your eyes God… or, send me a blind dog.

Today, it was all about the eyes.  Seeing, and not seeing.

We’ve had a busy week.  As I drove from one meeting to another today, the song “Give me your eyes” by Brandon Heath came on the radio.  I had the sun-roof open and my hair was down and wild, so I cranked the radio, singing the lyrics at the top of my lungs.

Give me Your eyes for just one second/Give me Your eyes so I can see

Everything that I keep missing/Give me Your love for humanity

 Give me your arms for the broken hearted/ The ones that are far beyond my reach

Give me your heart for the one’s forgotten/ Give me Your eyes so I can see

Yeah…

Yeah.  Give me Your eyes.  As I thought about the words for a few minutes, I passed the school where I taught for many years, a school that is dear to my heart for so many reasons, and I remembered, that it was at that very place that He opened my eyes to the needs of the world.  That very place that he gave me His love for humanity.  That very place…. where he gave me His arms for the broken hearted, and I reached those that seemed far beyond my reach, and I mentored many that were forgotten.  That very place.   

I love how God gives me a song right when I need it.  I needed to hear those lyrics today, to be reminded to step outside of my busy life and pay attention to my surroundings.  Thank you, Lord, for the gentle reminder and for those years, I prayed. For they have molded me into who I am.  Give me your eyes today, Lord.  Remind me to look around.

And as if the day couldn’t have ended any more perfectly, I stopped at Eternal Grounds to grab a coffee and chat with my friend Tobi, the owner.  Of course there was excitement, just as I was paying, Tobi was telling me that she needed to hurry and quickly get out front to meet this blind and deaf coffee-loving dog that had just led his owner to Eternal Grounds!  His owner, who, seeking a coffee shop in the area, did not know that Eternal Grounds even existed. This dog was just so cool.  Blind and deaf, but loved coffee… diluted with water and ice… and he led his owner to the coffee shop by pure sense of smell.  The dog literally led his owner to the front door of Eternal Grounds… where the dog sat down and would.not.move.  Interesting?  Yes.  Notable?  Yes.  I’m not into the theology behind animals and God’s work, in fact, I really don’t have an opinion about it, nor do I care to even go there… but I do think that this particular dog owner desperately needed a blessing on this day.  He was eager to talk to Tobi and I and he was excited that he had found Eternal Grounds. 

 Watching Tobi love on this family was just such a blessing.  I love it that her coffee shop is her ministry.  Where people go for a “coffee break” from life. 

And it was there, this very place, that God broke me away from my busy life today, and showed me just how faithful and loving He really is.  Because, today, I was blind like the dog.  I was blind because I didn’t see much beyond my own crazy-busy life… but He led me there, and with a cup of coffee and a brief chat… He took a blind dog, and reminded me to see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Give me your eyes God… or, send me a blind dog.

  1. Kathleen says:

    Such a cool story, Jessica! And I do believe there will be animals in heaven, as in the book of Revelation it says: “I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True.” Rev.19:11. So if Jesus is riding a horse in heaven, why can’t there be dogs there, too?

  2. Penelope says:

    Jessica, I stumbled upon your blog this afternoon while sitting in Eternal Grounds coffee, looking up the coffee shop on Twitter to friend the page. What an amazing and uplifting story! The Lord works in mysterious ways and we all need a reminder to slow down in our busy lives to be reminded how much we are indeed loved beyond measure. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

